Thursday, May 16, 2013

Irony


I'm sure you've seen these tops. Of course you have, they're everywhere. They're on every annoying 14-year-old girl trying to grow up too fast by showing off her midriff. But I'm getting off topic here. I'm not anti-crop-top. I'm against the improper use of the term 'geek'.

Not to mention the other favourites - 'nerd', 'dork' - whatever your word of choice. 99.9% of these wearers have absolutely no idea about anything remotely 'geeky'.

I've already done it twice, but I usually hate using the G-word. In most cases it's used derogatively, and I hate that. Some of my closest friends run a blog which includes news on games, movies, comic books, etc., and my boyfriend is a computer scientist with a soft spot for the Steam sales.The point I'm trying to make is this - If you're wearing a GEEK tee, you're not a geek.

Girls, stop trying to be cool and individual by pretending to be into Star Wars and gaming. Call of Duty is not respected amongst gamers. Neither is FIFA.

Oh, and whilst I'm on the subject, I have another t-shirt rule. If you can't name at least one member of a band, do not wear a tee with their logo scrawled across it. You're making their real fans look bad. That guy with the guitar on the H&M AC/DC shirt, he's Angus Young, one of the greatest guitarists of all time. And if you can't respect him, you don't deserve to wear his image.

3 comments:

  1. I totally agree with you about those t-shirts. Heck, I AM a geek and I wouldn't wear one.

    ReplyDelete
  2. hahahahahaha this is great, i am soo with you xxx

    www.fashionfumblings.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Is it okay to wear them with irony? Because I have a 'punk' one full of holes and it's basically the most comfortable tshirt I own! Don't judge me :(

    ReplyDelete